30 Days Reading Challenge – The Final Update

Also known as the 2nd update. I planned on reading 15 books in 30 days. I didn’t. But I did finish 10 books and read a lot from other books. And I am disappointed because most of the books are children books. I love reading children books, but I feel like I might have cheated a little bit. Or maybe I didn’t. I can’t decide right now, sorry. But here are the books.

  1. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
  2. A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George R.R. Martin
  3. The Little Vampire (The Little Vampire #1) by Angela Sommer-Bodenburg – I already talked about these three books in the first update.
  4. The Little Vampire Moves In (The Little Vampire #2) by Angela Sommer-Bodenburg – The second book with the Rudiget, the little vampire, and Anton. In this one the little vampire has to move in Anton’s basement because his folks found out about his friendship with the human boy. And that’s not a thing popular with vampires.
  5. The Little Vampires Takes a Trip (The Little Vampire #3) by Angela Sommer-Bodenburg – Every time I read the books with the Little Vampire all I think about is how great the chapters are made. If you are (or have) a little kid you can read a chapter or two as bedtime story. They are great! In this one, Anton and Rudiger are going on a train ride and they have plenty of fun and a lot of adventures.
  6. Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman – I had a pretty rough start with this book because I was still during my exams period when I started reading it, but then I just couldn’t let it go! The second half I read it in like a night or so because it was simply lovely! The characters where great and I enjoyed the plot twists and all those little coincidences that made the story so fantastic.
  7. Celle qui n’etait plus or Les Diaboliques by Boileau-Narcejac. In English the title is “The Woman Who Was No More” but I prefer the French. Also, I am pretty pissed that my book used the second title which is not the book’s original title but the film’s. But the story was great no matter what title it had. It’s my second book by this author and the first one I read because of the film Vertigo. I guessed the ending of the book but it was still a nice reading.
  8. The Flowers of Evil by Charles Baudelaire – You might think reading poetry is cheating… but I am not a poetry reader and I rarely get to finish a poetry book. I am pretty stiff when it comes to poetry mainly because I just love stories and characters and poetry is mostly about different things. I could always read Poe’s poetry, of course, but it was hard to find someone else to appreciate as much as Poe. But I did and he’s name is Charles Baudelaire and his writings are so strong and beautiful that he made me prefer the sunset… and I thought I will always be a sunrise kind of girl.
  9. Peter Pan and Wendy by J.M. Barrie – I am ashamed I never read this story when I was a little kid. But I had tons of fun doing it now and I read it all in a morning from the sunrise ’till 7 am.
  10. 30-Second Theories: The 50 Most Thought-provoking Theories in Science by many authors – I devoured this book like crazy! I had a thing for physics (especially) in high school but in my last year I was to busy preparing for exams that I ignored Einstein’s relativity theories or quantum mechanics but now I can understand them as much as I need to know them for my personal interest. I also loved the illustrations from this book. They were simple, but really smart.

Well… 10/15 was pretty OK and I shouldn’t be so hard on myself for reading children books because I love them and I’ll read them anyway challenge or no challenge. As for the other challenge… I’ll just do it the next time because now I am pretty busy.

2 thoughts on “30 Days Reading Challenge – The Final Update

  1. Pingback: The Adventures of a Cat | The Geeky List: Vampires, Sherlock and Titans

Leave a Reply

