Bookfest 2013!

Bookfest is back in Cluj-Napoca!! It’s the second edition and I also went to the first one last year and bought one of the best book ever with the best illustrations ever: The Diary of Edward the Hamster 1990-1990 by Ezra Elia and Miriam Elia (one of them made the illustration, the other wrote it I think…).

This year I wore my book earrings and my outfit was pretty much inspired from an awesome book I’m reading (Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell): blue tights, pink cardigan.

boookkkSo Bookfest has a bunch of event like book releases and stuff like and a lot of interesting people come to talk about those books. Unfortunately I have stuff to do or courses at Uni and can’t ever make it to a Bookfest event. But I still can go and browse through all the nice books – and they have lots of sales too. Since I am a book hoarder and I have tons of books unread (like hundreds, seriously!) I am not allowed to buy more than one book.

This year I got Lust for Life by Irving Stone. But I must confess it was hard to pick just one book. Since I don’t have tons of money I usually only buy cheap books and Polirom has this awesome collection called Top 10+ and they relaunch awesome novels but they are cheaper – sure, the pages aren’t the best quality but they aren’t flying or anything (the bookbinding is pretty ok, it’s just the paper quality that bothers me a bit but I can’t complain for that price, right?).

boofkAnd from that collection I picked two books that I really really really wanted: Lust for Life and Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. I wanted to read Lust for Life since high-school but my local library didn’t have it. As for Never Let Me Go… I watched the movie and it was such a good movie and then I found out there’s a book by Kazuo Ishiguro and I adore Japanese literature. So what’s a bookworm to do? Flip a coin, duh!

The magic about flipping a coin is that an impersonal object gets to decide for you and the coin is not conditioned by anything. The coin doesn’t know what the books are about and it doesn’t know my “history” with the books. You choose which face is which book and then you flip it (yes, guys, I am giving you a tutorial for flipping a coin!) and and winner book is *ta-na-na-na* Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Bet you didn’t expect that! Flipping the coin is not about letting the coin decide for you, is about helping you to decide. When I realized the coin picked Never Let Me Go I was so sad and devastated (this is an exaggeration for the sake of this post, but I really was a bit sad) and that’s when I realized that the book I really wanted was Lust for Life, I just didn’t know that until the coin flipping.

bookdWhen I bought the book they also gave me two free tickets to any film from Comedy Cluj (a film festival that’s gonna start next weekend and it’s gonna last for 10 days!). Also walking from stand to stand I got a free bookmark! So Bookfest is really fun. And the best part about this festival is that it’s not just about books, but about culture and arts in general and they also have free-entry cinema and I am going today to Edvard Munch a Norwegian film from 1974 directed by Peter Watkins.

Stay tuned for more posts about different festival because my town has a bunch of them this month!

One thought on “Bookfest 2013!

  1. Pingback: The Adventures of a Cat | Herbstfest! and Best Thing in the World: German Shepherds!

Leave a Reply

