NaNoWriMo 2013: My Past NaNo

I participated in two NaNo events this past year; first last year in November… and I failed mainly because of laziness but also school and at NaNo Camp in April and I won that one (NaNoWriMo is hard (also I forgot to tell you that NaNo stands for National Novel Writing Month but you can learn more about it if you google it), but NaNo camp is easier – mainly because you decide your goal (mine was 30,000 words and I wrote a lot more). Last April NaNo Camp I wrote a Harry Potter fanfiction and I had tons of fun. But sure… I had almost nothing to do in April except for school and that’s about it. )

The thing is I love NaNoWriMo not necessarily because it’s a challenge to write a novel in a month, but because it makes me write. I like writing stories, but I always find other things to do before writing (I am getting better at it…) so NaNo is a big help for me because I know I have to write 1666/1667 per day to finish on time and I love dares and challenges.

In November I tried to write a historical fantasy… I got the idea for that story when I first came to University two years ago and NaNo was the perfect time to actually sit down and write it. I failed… but I am still working on that story now (I changed it a lot). NaNo is not easy. That was my first lesson. I thought writing 1666 words every day was a piece of cake…

But guess what? Missing a day is horrible… those words add up, missing more days is even more horrible… having to focus on my University and my social life and NaNoWriMo is no easy task. Also… having people over in November doesn’t make writing anymore easier. Plus my birthday is in November, so is my mum’s, grandma’s, my two little cousins’… I go home every November on my mum’s birthday (I live miles away, but it’s a tradition and I can’t skip it because of NaNo)…

And those things add up, you know? I can’t be to my own birthday party and spend my time on my laptop… writing? Right? But now I know all these things. I know I have to write a lot before I can skip days. I know that I need to focus on school and family before NaNo and that not writing 50,000 words in 30 days is not the end of the world. So I guess I am pretty much ready for this NaNoWriMo… or at least I won’t be sad when I fail again. I am ready to fail this time but I’ll do my best not too.

Leave a Reply

