Book Crush: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Yes, I am trying to write a review for a book and I am pretty scared to do it because I am really bad at writing reviews but this book is so good that I HAVE TO DO IT! First things first… this is Cath:

ffaaCath in my head, I mean, since it’s a quick sketch I did in one of my reading breaks. Cath, or Cather, is in her first year of college, has a twin sister named Wren (get it? get it? if you don’t, read the book!), a father who works in advertising and is part of a huge fandom Simon Snow (kinda like Harry Potter in our world, but not really) and she writes a pretty popular fan-fiction.

I connected with Cath at the first page because if you are an anxious introvert girl (not necessarily a fangirl) it’s really hard not to relate to Cath! Like this:

In new situations, all the trickiest rules are the ones nobody bothers to explain to you. (And the ones you can’t google.) Like, where does the like start? What food can you take? Where are you supposed to stand, then where are you supposed to sit? Where do you go when you’re done, why is everyone watching you?… Bah. 

See what I mean? That is so me! And probably so you… some of you. Oh, or this:

“No,” Cath said, “seriously. Look at you. You’ve got your shit together, you’re not scared of anything. I’m scared of everything. And I’m crazy. Like maybe you think I’m a little crazy, but I only ever let people see the tip of my crazy iceberg. Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and socially inept, I’m a complete disaster.”

Now that you get the idea who Cath is you can probably imagine how hard it is for her to experience college when her twin sister decides they are not going to share a room in the dorm. Like what? They shared a room for 18 years! And now she has to go live with a total stranger (well, an awesome stranger and actually my favourite character in the book – bet you expected Cath to be my favourite since she’s so me, but I guess that’s the reason she’s not).

The novel is some kind of coming of age novel, but it has a bunch of story lines and while there is a boy (or two or three if we count them all) romance is not the main focus of this book – but it’s a pretty good part of it and oh, the feels…

Now let’s jump to my favourite part (well parts) about this book: the characters! They are so varied and it’s hard not to love them all (SPOILER except for Nick, I hated him END OF SPOILER). My favourite character is Cath’s roommate, Reagan – she is older than Cath and she is awesome, she is a great friend and I just loved SPOILER how she treated the whole Levi situation END OF SPOILER. Levi is also an incredible character especially because he is really really good at leaning, oh, yeah.

Also… Wren, Cath’s twin sister… Since we as readers are pretty much living Cath’s life and thoughts it isn’t easy not to hate Wren – well, hate is a big word, let’s say dislike her. Because we empathize with Cath and we feel bad for her and Wren should be there for her, right? But we know nothing about Wren, about her feelings, maybe she needs to be away from her twin sister, she cut her hair because she wanted to be different from her sister, she is different from Cath personality wise, but they still look the same, you know? And when we get to know her better, well, she’s a really funny person.  And she is also a fangirl and a fanfiction writer (they wrote a lot together) and now a big fan of Cath’s popular fanfiction.

Here are some of my favourite Wren quotes:

“I’m here for you if you go manic,” Wren said. “But you’re on your own if you become a vampire.”

“The first few times you do it, you only get graded on attendance.”

And my favourite:

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy,” Wren said. “It’s the noblest, like, the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.”

This books is excellent and truly enjoyable. I think I still have tons of things to talk about when it comes to it, but it’s a pretty long post, right? Plus, I am not great at reviewing things, especially things that I loved. I just want to recommend it to all you, it’s an easy-read book… and I forgot to mention the Simon Snow fragments and the fanfiction fragments and, oh, well, maybe next time!

PS: I read this for the tumblr book club! It’s the first tumblr book club, it’s called Reblog Book Club and if you are on tumblr and love reading, well, you should be in it too!

Leave a Reply

